(MIRAMICHI, NB – October 5th, 2020) Yves McCray (Neguac, NB) has added an Atlantic Modified Tour championship to his impressive driving resume after Saturday’s Keswick Kitchen Season Finale at Speedway Miramichi. McCray clinched the 2020 touring title by winning the 35-lap feature, a cap to a wild day of Modified racing at the Miramichi, New Brunswick oval. The Keswick Kitchen Season Finale was a part of Speedway Miramichi’s The Very Best Fall Shootout Season Finale.

McCray was able to take the lead on a Lap 15 restart from Brandon Skidmore (Springhill, NS), a lead he would not relinquish en route to his second feature victory of the season. McCray was challenged late by “The Racing Ranger” Kim Hallihan (Renous, NB) but while Hallihan was able to reel in the No. 58 Sarkis Collision Centre Modified, his spirited run to the front ended up one position short. Hallihan drove a renumbered 2W car for Chris Wilson (South Esk, NB), who focused his efforts on his Street Stock ride for the afternoon.

For McCray, who saw his point lead shrink in the two rounds since his win on SpeedWeekend at Speedway 660, this win was extra sweet.

“We had a few hard last weeks but this win puts the sugar coating on it all,” said the newly crowned champion in victory lane after the Keswick Kitchen Season Finale.

Skidmore, the 2019 Atlantic Modified Tour champion, finished in third on the afternoon. Joe Hoyt (Waasis, NB) and Braxton Stafford (Blackville, NB) completed the top five in the Keswick Kitchen 35.

Zean Dutcher (Miramichi, NB), who entered the event fourth in the point standings, captured the heat race on the afternoon. The qualifying was a rough and tumble affair after half of the field failed to cross the line after two accidents dwindled the field. Even with a mechanical failure in the feature, Dutcher was able to lock down third in the points behind Travis Conroy (Miramichi, NB), who also failed to finish the Keswick Kitchen Season Finale.


1st – #58 Yves McCray
2nd – #97 Kim Hallihan
3rd – #84 Brandon Skidmore
4th – #17 Joe Hoyt
5th – #91 Braxton Stafford
6th – #12 Steven Curtis
7th – #7 Travis Conroy
8th – #55 Zean Dutcher
DNS – #2 Kevin Bailey
DNS – #00 Michael Savoie

Unofficially, McCray will win the 2020 Atlantic Modified Tour championship by 30 points over Conroy, Dutcher, Kevin Bailey (Minto, NB) and Stafford.

The event was covered live by Tim’s Corner Motorsports TV. To relive the full Keswick Kitchen Season Finale, check out www.timscorner.tv. A portion of the proceeds from sales go back to the venues the Atlantic Modified Tour visits.

This completes the Atlantic Modified Tour season. The Tour would like to thank its drivers, teams, fans, host venues, marketing partners and officials for a successful 2020 season. Teams are urged to watch the Atlantic Modified Tour social media channels and website for news regarding the 2021 season in the coming weeks.

For more information about the Atlantic Modified Tour, please visit the new online home for the Series at www.atlanticmodifieds.com. You can also “like” the Tour on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AtlanticModifieds.

About the Atlantic Modified Tour:
The Atlantic Modified Tour is a New Brunswick based open wheel modified touring series. Founded in 2003 by Jim Duke, the Atlantic Modified Tour continues to thrill fans across the Province. You can keep up with the Atlantic Modified Tour by liking the Series on Facebook and following the Tour on Instagram (@AtlanticModifieds) or by visiting their website at AtlanticModifieds.com.


Leave a comment